So last weekend I went to the Southern Adirondack Fiber Festival.  This was just their second year, so I thought it would be too small to justify 3+ hours of driving, but still, I decided to go because they said they had over 90 vendors.   Here are some pics:

Another shot:

I’ve been to several Northeastern fiber festivals, and you just can’t avoid to classify them by what are the best goodies they offer.  Just to give you an example (be aware this is just MHO):

– Connecticut sheep and wool:  Best for farm fresh minimally processed medium fibers.  Not so good is you want art batts or hand painted rovings.  Here I usually get some nice fine baby alpaca fleeces and natural colored rovings from local farms.

– Rhode Island Fiber Festival: Nice little festival, not that many fleeces, not many handpainted rovings.  If you are into sock yarn, maybe you would find it more attractive than I do, because they have a couple big retail companies offering a nice selection of yarns (i.e. The Yarn and Fiber Company, I think).  I usually just go there because I like the area.  It is near a nice beach park, which we usually hit after going to the festival. 

– Massachussetts Sheep and Wool:  Great for angora, hand painted rovings, and nice deals on alpaca fleeces.  Also, you can’t avoid stopping by Spunky Eclectic‘s booth.  If you think her goodies look great on the internet, they look even better in real life.

– New Hampshire Sheep and Wool:  Great for batts and commercially processed undyed fibers.  You can’t miss Linda Dyak‘s awesome batts.  I also was able to score some nice cashmerino blends for $9 per 2 ounces, and some merino silk batts for $10 for 8 ounces.

– The ever so popular Rhinebeck:  This one is good for EVERYTHING.  What ever you want (fiber related), I can guarantee you will find here.  I mainly like it for the variety of breeds at the fleece show.

Now, to today goodies in the mail:

-My monthly dose of 3irishgirls:

My delicious double dose of Pigeon Roof Studios regular fiber of the month:

Also, today I started the Camping KAL organized by Southern Cross Fibers.  Here is the progress on my shawl so far:

I am half ways through the second round of Kline.  It seems this will be a pretty quick knit.  2 weeks maybe?  Changing gears, tomorrow (weather permitting – we got some nasty rain today) I will be attending the Vermont Sheep and Wool festival.  I wasn’t planning on going since last week I went to Souther Adirondack Fiber Fest, but next year, around this time I won’t be here in New England anymore, so I guess that would be a good excuse to go.  Specially because I am up for overseas duty or a ship.  I will know where I am going by the end of next week (hopefully).

